Potter Pub Sign

So there are a few things I like a lot – and Harry Potter and pubs are two of them! I was participating in a craft exchange a few months back and one of the crafts I had in mind was a painted wooden sign that I’d make using vinyl cut with my Silhouette as a reverse stencil. It sounded like a good idea, but I’d never actually used that technique before, so I figured I should create something for myself first, just to prove that I could make something that way.

I picked up this naked ornate-looking wood sign at Michael’s and a few bottles of acrylic craft paint. I thought it would make the perfect pub sign. Since my husband and I are big Harry Potter fans, I thought it’d be fun to do a Potter-themed pub sign. I downloaded a Gryffindor lion design from the Silhouette store (which is no longer there, otherwise I’d link to it…), and asked the girls from my craft group for some ideas on Potter sounding pub names. Someone suggested “The House Cup” and I thought it was perfect! I used a Harry Potter font (probably Wizard school) for the pub name, and cut everything out using indoor vinyl on my Sil.

A few coats of paint and some peeling later, and I had an awesome new Harry Potter-esque pub sign:

Gryffindor Pub SignIsn’t it just, like, the greatest thing ever?! I hung it in our dining room, across from the wine cabinet and wine glass shelves that we use as a bar area. It fits right in with our other beer and liquor related art and it makes me smile every time I see it in the room!

 

One thought on “Potter Pub Sign

  1. Pingback: DIY Painted Beer Plaque | And in her Spare Time...

Leave a Reply

