Max’s First Halloween

We had so much fun for Max’s first Halloween!

Yay, I like this pumpkin!

Halloween really snuck up on us this year!  We’ve been *so incredibly busy* the last few weeks with the kitchen renovations, which necessitated extreme cleaning sessions, all while I was working on sewing Max’s Baptism outfit.  So when it came to planning Max’s Halloween costume, I knew I’d have to go with something that would be relatively quick and easy to put together.  Max, of course, didn’t have any input on what he wanted to be, but he’s been really into waving things around.  Give the boy a straw and you’ll have entertained him for a solid half hour (which is, like, eons in baby time).  So I thought I’d make him Harry Potter for Halloween so he could wave around a wand!

Max’s Mommy-Made Harry Potter costume!

I Googled “Baby Harry Potter” to try and get some costume ideas and I found this post on a blog where the author was talking about her book, World of Geekcraft, in which there are instructions for a Harry Potter costume for babies.  And I lucked out and the Kindle version of the book happened to be on sale for $2.99, so I bought it!  I made a few modifications to the costume – I didn’t finish the scarf in time, so I quickly printed out a Gryffindor Tie on Iron On Transfer Paper that I just happened to have around the house and ironed it on a plain white t-shirt (in his size!  Another thing I randomly had around the house…).  I also purchased a Gryffindor patch from an ebay seller instead of DIYing the Gryffindor emblem.  And there wasn’t a wand in the book, so I whipped one up using some of the leftover brown felt that I used for the broomstick.

I finished everything up late, late, late Monday night – just in time for Max to be able to wear his costume for his Daycare Halloween Parade and party on Tuesday!

Max didn’t want to stay in the stroller for his Daycare Halloween Parade, so Mommy carried him.

After Max’s Halloween Parade on Tuesday, we carved our pumpkin.  We didn’t get around to getting a pumpkin until late in the day on Sunday.  When we pulled up to the pumpkin stand, the mother-daughter team who were running it looked like they were trying to pack up.  They apologetically told us that all of the good pumpkins were gone… except for just one.  It was a *huge* pumpkin that they’d been using as their “sample extra-large pumpkin” and had a big “$20” written on it.  “It won’t be $20,” they said.  We told them we’d take it along with a couple of mini pumpkins – and they charged us $10 for the lot.  Score!

Alex carved the pumpkin while Max supervised:

Daddy carves the pumpkin while Max supervises.

And when we were done carving the pumpkin, we, of course, took a ton of pictures:

Posing with the pumpkin!

Max didn’t go Trick-or-Treating on Halloween (it was too cold and it’s not like he knew the difference this year!), but he really enjoyed “chewing” on candy!

You mean it tastes better with the wrapper off?

 

 

Leave a Reply

